(I posted this list in response to an article a foreigner [who had not actually seen the iPhone 4 yet] posted on Geek.pirillo.com after reading numerous reports online about it)

My Response:

Good article – i’ll assume you don’t have one in your hands yet. For the Android fanboys or iPhone Haters I’d like to clarify a few things IMHO (& from my perspective as an iPhone 4 user).
1. Reception drops, but calls don’t. I know there are at least 5 solid reasons for why they don’t cell tower strength & location being 2, but the biggest reason I even noticed is because Jobs made such a big deal about the engineering of this new antenna! Which is why I assume most others have noticed & complained. (way to go Steve.)

2. Uploading to YouTube: it’s nice to upload to YouTube via a phone, but as a multimedia designer, if I spend the time putting a video project together chances are I’m gonna enhance it on a real computer using real full feature edit-ware & not my cell phone.

3. Jobs said the glass was as hard as Safire and 30 x’s harder than plastic. Oh yeah! I think iFix it posted a drop test. It took 4 drops to even fracture the glass! If you drop your iPhone 4 times in row onto concrete you should either first ensure you’ve taken your epolepsy medicine that morning or simply buy yourself a Jitterbug phone!

4. Yeah color spots on the screen I haven’t seen yet. This display is so so very crisp and nice. Remember this is Apple we’re talking about and not HTC. If your iPhone appears flawed in any way that was not your fault Apple will either replace your iPhone or make it right – no questions asked. Does any other phone company do that?

5. Multitasking – Yes it’s not simultaneous multitasking … At least not for all their Apps, but it is for about 4 Apps so far and many are expected to catch up like Skype, so be patient.

6. Expandable data slot … If you need more than 32 Gb or keep data on multiple cards there are cloud Apps that work quite nicely & provide plenty of Free clouds Apps at that like: DropBox, iDisk ($) and AirSharing ($) to name a few.
AT&T’s data has gone from “C’mon Man!” to “WTF!”, but for those of us still on the unlimited data plan it’s still unlimited. But the necessary evil that AT&T is is the only option now.
* (I don’t understand the complaint about the Keyboard)…
iBooks – Not so buggy in my experience. It did lag a bit once or twice on my old 3GS, but on iPhone 4 it’s just Fantastic.

Play with the iPhone 4 yourself. The reports online will scare you away before you’ve had a chance to see for yourself.

